About US

Where we are

The headquarters and diocesan offices of the Diocese of Wau in The Episcopal church of Sudan are situated in Wau the capital city of Western Bahr el Ghazal State. The diocese cover two States, Western Bahr el Ghazal and Warrap State with an approximate area of 125,000 square kilometers and an estimated population of 1.3 million people.

Wau diocese is bordered by Aweil Diocese in Northern Bahr el Ghazal to the north, Upper Nile to the east, Yambio Diocese in Western Equatoria  state, Rumbek Diocese, Lakes state to the south, Darfur to the North and the country of the Central African Republic to the west.

Wau - South Sudan       Wau Diocese info sheet       About South Sudan  


Who we are

We are an Anglican denomination; The Episcopal Church of Sudan is one branch of the worldwide Anglican Communion numbering some 60 million members in over 100 countries and forms part of the global extension of the Anglican Church. Anglicanism is a tradition within Christianity comprising churches with historical connections to the Church of England or in good standing with its, worship and church structures. The Church of England and the churches in other nations that are in complete agreement with it as to doctrine and discipline form a global communion led by the Archbishop of Canterbury.

We believe in a catholic and apostolic faith. Anglicans have three key principles to guide them - the 39 articles of faith, The Bible, and the Book of Common Prayer. Anglicans also believe in the concept of God and his supreme power, the Trinity of God as Father, Jesus the Son and the Holy Spirit. We exist to proclaim the love of God to all mankind.  Not to forget, that apart from worship, Anglican beliefs also include the sacraments. These sacraments are:

  • Confession and Absolution
  • Baptism
  • Holy Eucharist
  • Holy matrimony
  • Holy Orders
  • Confirmation
  • Anointing of the Sick